Jane Austen Society Austria

Society for historical literature, art and culture

ZVR-Zahl 1961672182

The Jane Austen Society Austria´s purpose is to study the life and works of Jane Austen and her time. In further consequence to study the history and life of the early and late modern period.

Regular meetings are planned to talk about, to study and experience historical daily life, culinary art, fashion and needlework techniques, music and dance, literature, botany, etc. Mainly we will read Jane Austen´s works and discuss them at joint literary evenings.

All members are invited to propose ideas for meetings and acitivities.

If you are interested, we are looking forward to your mail:  society@janeausten.at

5 March 2020

Emma

 

  

29 February 2020

2. Jane Austen Bookclub

 

  

6 February 2020

Little Women

 

  

12 January 2020

1. Jane Austen Bookclub

Today was the first meeting of our Jane Austen bookclub at "Silvia´s Cornershop". We discussed the first 7 chapters of "Pride and Prejudice". Silvia offered a wonderful Afternoon Tea with freshly baked scones and other delicious food.

We are looking forward to our next meeting, on 29th February, we continue with the next chapters.

  

Photo Album

16 December 2019

Jane Austen Birthday Afternoon Tea

To celebrate Jane Austen´s 244. birthday we met for an Afternoon Tea. Each member brought something delicious and so we had to offer tea, sandwiches, scones, clotted cream, jam, sponge cake and tea biscuits.

Thanks again for coming and celebrating together!

  

Photo Album

28 November 2019

Get-together

While enjoying tea and delicious scones we introduced our new society and were able to gain new members. Unfortunately we forgot to take a group picture, so here is one where only we three were left.

4 November 2019

Founding meeting

At the first general meeting of the founding members the board of the association was chosen: Eva Tieber, Julia Mondre and Marlies Klocker-Tieber. Mostly we talked about the planned activities of the Jane Austen Society Austria:

  • a bookclub to read and talk about Jane Austen´s works and in further consequence read works of other historical authors too. We will begin - how could it be otherwise - with "Pride and Prejudice" ♥
  • Historical picnic
  • Workshops to study and experience historical fashion and needlework, techniques, culinaric, music and dance, literature, botany, etc
  • Museum visits and excursions

22 August 2019

Foundation of association

Nearly 15 years have passed since we went to see a movie and fell in love with the fashion and life around 1800. What has been our common hobby in the recent years, we now want to share with others. Therefore we decided to found an association that deals with the life and works of Jane Austen, and also with the history and life of the early and late modern period with focus on the early 19th Century.

In the footsteps of Jane Austen

Jane Austen Society Austria

Biography

 

In the footsteps of
Jane Austen

Bath

Lyme Regis

Chawton

Winchester

Lacock (Filmlocation)

What are men to rocks and mountains? Oh! What hours of transport we shall spend! And when we do return, it shall not be like other travellers, without being able to give one accurate idea of any thing. We will know where we have gone; we will recollect what we have seen. Let our first effusions be less insupportable than those of the generality of travellers.

Pride and Prejudice
Jane Austen
 

Kleidertruhe.at

Jane Austen Society Austria

Verein für historische Literatur, Kunst und Kultur

ZVR-Zahl 1961672182

Die Jane Austen Society Austria beschäftigt sich mit dem Leben und den Werken von Jane Austen und der Geschichte ihrer Zeit, in weiterer Folge auch mit der Geschichte und dem Leben der Neuzeit und Moderne.

Geplant sind regelmäßige Treffen um gemeinsam historische Alltagskultur, Kulinarik, Mode und Handarbeitstechniken, Musik und Tanz, Literatur, Pflanzenkunde, usw. zu besprechen, erarbeiten und zu erleben. Vor allem aber möchten wir die Werke von Jane Austen lesen und bei gemeinsamen Literaturabenden besprechen.

Alle Mitglieder sind dazu eingeladen Ideen für Treffen und Aktivitäten einzubringen.

Bei Interesse freuen wir uns über deine Nachricht: society@janeausten.at

12. Jänner 2020

1. Buchclubtreffen

Heute kamen wir zu unserem ersten Buchclubtreffen in "Silvia´s Cornershop" zusammen. In lustiger Runde beschäftigten wir uns mit den ersten sieben Kapiteln von "Stolz und Vorurteil" und diskutierten das Auftreten der verschiedenen Charaktere. Passend dazu durften wir unser über einen herrlichen Afternoon Tea mit frisch gebackenen Scones und andere Köstlichkeiten freuen.

Wir freuen uns schon auf den 29. Februar, wenn es mit den nächsten Kapiteln weitergeht!

  

Fotoalbum

16. Dezember 2019

Jane Austen Birthday Afternoon Tea

Zum 244. Geburtstag von Jane Austen trafen wir uns zum gemütlichen Afternoon Tea. Jedes Mitglied brachte irgendeine Köstlichkeit mit und so hatten wir eine traumhafte Tafel mit Tee, Sandwiches, Scones, Clotted Cream, Marmelade, Sponge Cake und verschiedensten Bäckereien. Danke nochmals fürs Kommen und Mitfeiern!

  

Fotoalbum

28. November 2019

Kennenlernen

Bei einer heißen Tasse Tee und köstlichen Scones in „Omas Teekanne“ konnten wir uns und unseren Verein vorstellen und erste Mitglieder gewinnen. Leider haben wir dabei auf ein nettes Gruppenfoto vergessen und erst wieder daran gedacht, als wir nur noch zu dritt waren...

4. November 2019

Gründungsversammlung

Bei einer ersten Mitgliederversammlung der Gründungsmitglieder wurde der Vorstand des Vereins gewählt: Eva Tieber, Julia Mondre und Marlies Klocker-Tieber. Vor allem aber beschäftigten wir uns mit den geplanten Aktivitäten der Jane Austen Society Austria:

  • ein Buchclub um gemeinsam die Romane von Jane Austen und in weiterer Folge auch Werke anderer historischer Autoren zu lesen und zu besprechen. Beginnen werden wir dabei - wie könnte es anders sein - mit "Stolz und Vorurteil" ♥
  • Historisches Picknick
  • Workshops zum Erarbeiten und Erlernen von Mode und Handarbeitstechniken, Kulinarik, Musik und Tanz, Literatur, Pflanzenkunde, usw.
  • Gemeinsame Museumsbesuche und Ausflüge

22. August 2019

Vereinserrichtung

Nun sind schon bald 15 Jahre vergangen, seit wir uns bei einem gemeinsamen Kinobesuch in die Mode und das Leben um 1800 verliebt haben. Was seither unser gemeinsames Hobby war, möchten wir nun auch mit andern teilen. Darum haben wir uns entschieden einen Verein zu gründen, der sich mit dem Leben und den Werken von Jane Austen, in weiterer Folge auch mit der Geschichte und dem Leben der Neuzeit und der Moderne mit Fokus auf das frühe 19. Jahrhundert beschäftigt.

In the footsteps of Jane Austen

Termine

29. Februar 2020

Buchclub
Stolz und Vorurteil
(Kapitel 8-16)

28. März 2020

Buchclub
Stolz und Vorurteil

Jane Austen Society Austria

Biographie

 

Auf den Spuren von
Jane Austen
 

Bath

Lyme Regis

Chawton

Winchester

Lacock (Filmlocation)

Was bedeuten Männer neben Wäldern und Bergen? Ach, was für eine herrliche Reise das werden wird! Und wenn wir zurückkehren, dann nicht so wie alle anderen, die niemals wissen, wo sie gewesen sind und wie es dort ausgesehen hat. Wir werden uns immer an alles erinnern, was wir gesehen und was wir erlebt haben! Ach, was werden wir alles von unterwegs zu erzählen haben!

Stolz und Vorurteil
Jane Austen
 

Kleidertruhe.at